Posted by: John Gerneth | March 9, 2011

11 Foot Snowstorms & Expensive Houses


I figured I hadn’t put a post on here for a while so I thought I should, I’ve been really busy lately and haven’t had time, but I have taken a lot of pictures since the last post.  These first pictures are from walking around in Tahoe City after a big snowstorm.  We got about 11 feet in 4 days, it was insane.

These next couple pictures are from hanging out at my friend’s house, playing some poker and getting prepared to go to Reno.  I didn’t take many pictures in Reno because I didn’t want to be walking around in the street drunk with my camera, but I did get one that pretty much sums it up.

Last Friday my boss took all the employees out to lunch for Sandbox’s 10 year anniversary.  We went to this great sushi place in Truckee, and afterwards he took me and two other guys who work there to Martis Camp.  Martis is an extremely rich neighborhood by Truckee that many of Sandbox’s clients now live in.  Sandbox has designed 11 houses in Martis Camp so far, and we are working on more right now.  It’s a crazy place, like the average cost of a home is about 3 mil.  They have all these amenities in this little neighborhood, its basically like you are a member of an extremely exclusive club if you live there.  These pictures are of some finished houses designed by Sandbox as well as some that are under construction.  I also took some pictures of the common buildings like the lodge and barn.  The barn is a 5 story tall rec room complete with restaurants, a bar, a full court basketball court, bowling alley, movie theater, art gallery, and countless other cool things to do.

These last pictures are from my favorite leisure activity in the world, snowboarding.  It has been so amazing here and I have been too nervous to take my expensive camera up on the mountain with me, but this past weekend I took it up when my friend Jared from high school came to visit.  It was a good choice.  I’m in the yellow jacket and my friend is in the grey one.  These pictures were taken at Squaw Valley and Homewood.

caution?  pshhhh

Responses

  1. nice pics john, looks like it is cold coming down how high r u ? (in feet )

    • haha good question. squaw valley is where alot of the snowboarding pics are from and that is 8200′ at the top. Homewood is about 8000′. pretty high up to say the least.


Leave a Reply

Categories

